RELEASE: Rep. Cloud Appointed to Congressional Task Force for Artificial Intelligence

Feb 27, 2024

Washington, D.C. — Congressman Michael Cloud (TX-27) was recently appointed by Speaker of the House Mike Johnson to serve on a bipartisan Task Force for Artificial Intelligence (AI). The Task Force will seek to produce a comprehensive report that will include guiding principles, forward-looking recommendations, and bipartisan policy proposals developed in consultation with committees of jurisdiction.

Rep. Cloud released the following statement:

“I’m grateful to be appointed to this task force by Speaker Johnson,” said Congressman Cloud. “Congress must ensure that the United States leads the world in AI. Innovative projects in AI have the potential to support our infrastructure and our economy and maximize human capability and ingenuity. But there are also serious concerns about the dangerous potential of AI in the hands of corrupt powers with nefarious objectives as well as unintended consequences from well-meaning programmers. Developing a strategy for AI that prepares our country’s workforce and shapes ethical guidelines around ethical values will help put our country on a stronger footing.

Congress must continue to prioritize research and development in order to stay ahead of our adversaries who are actively developing AI capabilities with nefarious intent. I look forward to working with the Task Force to lay out concrete steps for achieving that, considering both the benefits of deploying AI in our society, and the guardrails necessary to ensure it remains trustworthy and safe.”

Speaker Johnson and Leader Hakeem Jeffries each appointed 12 members to the Task Force, and it will be jointly led by Chair Jay Obernolte (CA-23) and Co-Chair Ted Lieu (CA-36). 

The full list of Members on this Task Force includes:

  • Rep. Jay Obernolte (CA-23), Chair 
  • Rep. Darrell Issa (CA-48)
  • Rep. French Hill (AR-02)
  • Rep. Michael Cloud (TX-27)
  • Rep. Neal Dunn (FL-02)
  • Rep. Ben Cline (VA-06)
  • Rep. Kat Cammack (FL-03)
  • Rep. Scott Franklin (FL-18)
  • Rep. Michelle Steel (CA-45)
  • Rep. Eric Burlison (MO-07)
  • Rep. Laurel Lee (FL-15)
  • Rep. Rich McCormick (GA-06)
  • Rep. Ted Lieu (CA-36), Co-Chair 
  • Rep. Anna Eshoo (CA-16)
  • Rep. Yvette Clarke (NY-09)
  • Rep. Bill Foster (IL-11)
  • Rep. Suzanne Bonamici (OR-01)
  • Rep. Ami Bera (CA-06)
  • Rep. Don Beyer (VA-08)
  • Rep. Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez (NY-14)
  • Rep. Haley Stevens (MI-11)
  • Rep. Sara Jacobs (CA-51)
  • Rep. Valerie Foushee (NC-04)
  • Rep. Brittany Pettersen (CO-07)


Recent Posts

Apr 12, 2024

RELEASE: Rep. Cloud Opposes FISA Reauthorization, Supports Amendment Requiring Warrant for Surveillance

WASHINGTON, D.C. – On Friday, Rep. Michael Cloud (R-TX) once again opposed warrantless searches of American citizens, voting in favor of an amendment that would require warrants for surveillance of U.S. citizens under section 702 of the Foreign Intelligence Surveillance Act (FISA). Cloud also voted NO on the full FISA reauthorization bill, after efforts to […]

Apr 11, 2024

RELEASE: Rep. Cloud Slams Secretary Mayorkas on Biden’s Border Crisis

WASHINGTON, D.C. – This week, in the House Appropriations Committee, Rep. Michael Cloud (R-TX) questioned Department of Homeland Security (DHS) Secretary Alejandro Mayorkas on the Biden administration’s ongoing enabling of the southern border crisis – as well as their false statements on Congress’ responsibility.   The hearing was part of the Appropriations Subcommittee on Homeland […]

Apr 10, 2024

RELEASE: Rep. Cloud Opposes Extension of Warrantless Spying on Americans

WASHINGTON, D.C. – Today, Rep. Michael Cloud (R-TX) voted against a House rule for consideration of a bill that would extend authority for federal agencies to spy on American citizens without a warrant. The authority refers to Section 702 of the Foreign Intelligence Surveillance Act (FISA), which allows agencies of the U.S. government to engage in […]