Reps. Cloud and Clyde Demand VA Rescind Illegal Abortion Rule

WASHINGTON, D.C. — Yesterday, Congressmen Michael Cloud (TX-27) and Andrew Clyde (GA-09) led 43 of their colleagues in demanding Veterans Affairs Secretary Denis McDonough immediately rescind the Department of Veterans Affairs’ (VA) new rule that provides abortion services through the VA healthcare system.  

In the letter, lawmakers blast the VA’s interim rule, explaining Secretary McDonough’s “misguided decision is using taxpayer dollars to conduct this heinous action, which is a direct attack on the consciences of countless Americans, and goes against decades of precedent prohibiting taxpayer-funded abortions.”

“President Biden is again attempting to twist the law to his will by illegally authorizing the Department of Veterans Affairs to provide abortion services,” Congressman Cloud said. “The VA should remain committed to providing critical care to support the lives of our veterans, not be another last ditch attempt by the Biden administration to provide taxpayer-funded abortions.”

“The VA should be focused on providing timely, high-quality care to our nation’s veterans, not murdering precious citizens with taxpayer dollars,” said Clyde. “If Secretary McDonough refuses to rescind this reprehensible and unlawful rule, Congress must swiftly hold the Biden Administration accountable for this unprecedented overreach and abuse of power.”

Co-signers include: Representatives Brian Babin (TX-36), Jim Banks (IN-3), Andy Biggs (AZ-5), Gus Bilirakis (FL-12), Lauren Boebert (CO-03), Ken Buck (CO-04), Tim Burchett (TN-02), Kat Cammack (FL-03), Rick Crawford (AR-01), Warren Davidson (OH-08), Jeff Duncan (SC-03), Jake Ellzey (TX-06), Drew Ferguson (GA-03), Michelle Fischbach (MN-07), Bob Gibbs (OH-07), Louie Gohmert (TX-01), Bob Good (VA-05), Paul Gosar (AZ-04), Marjorie Taylor Greene (GA-14), Diana Harshbarger (TN-01), Kevin Hern (OK-01), Jody Hice (GA-10), Jim Jordan (OH-4), Fred Keller (PA-12), Doug LaMalfa (CA-01), Doug Lamborn (CO-05), Debbie Lesko (AZ-08), Barry Loudermilk (GA-11), Brian Mast (FL-18), Lisa McClain (MI-10), Mary Miller (IL-15), Barry Moore (AL-02), Markwayne Mullin (OK-02), Troy Nehls (TX-22), Ralph Norman (SC-05), Burgess Owens (UT-04), Steve Palazzo (MS-04), Matt Rosendale (MT-At-Large), Chip Roy (TX-21), Elise Stefanik (NY-21), Greg Steube (FL-17), Randy Weber (TX-14), and Daniel Webster (FL-11).

Supporting organizations include: Family Research Council

Full text of the letter is available HERE.


Recent Posts

Sep 22, 2022

Cloud: Biden Administration Policies Responsible for Historic Inflation, Not Private Companies

WASHINGTON — Economic and Consumer Policy Subcommittee Ranking Member Michael Cloud (R-Texas) opened today’s hearing by slamming Democrats for shifting blame for the economic crisis from the Biden Administration’s disastrous fiscal policies to the private sector. He pointed out that today’s subcommittee hearing is only the second this year, noting that the first hearing was on pet […]

Sep 15, 2022

Cloud Exposes the True Face of Democrats’ “Green” New Deal

Washington, D.C.—In today’s House Oversight and Reform Committee hearing on “Fueling the Climate Crisis: Examining Big Oil’s Prices, Profits, and Pledges,” Congressman Michael Cloud (TX-27) blasted far-left Democrats for their continued demonization of oil and gas companies while ignoring the terrible working conditions Democrats’ “Green” New Deal initiatives have on young children overseas. Watch the video HERE. […]

Sep 14, 2022

Cloud and Economic & Consumer Policy Subcommittee Republicans Probe Head Start’s Toddler Mask Mandate

WASHINGTON—Today, Economic and Consumer Policy Subcommittee Ranking Member Michael Cloud (R-Texas) and several Republican lawmakers on the panel are calling on the Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) to provide answers about Head Start’s mask mandate for toddlers in schools nationwide. In a letter to Administration for Children and Families Assistant Secretary January Contreas, […]